Plug-in solar in California

Signed, not yet effective Takes effect January 1, 2027, in 84 days

Soon. California has signed a plug-in solar law (SB 868) that takes effect on January 1, 2027. It will cover kits with up to 1,200 W of output, maximum aggregated AC output per dwelling.

Sources differ on part of this. Check the original bill text for certification.

The device

Power limit
1,200 W (maximum aggregated AC output per dwelling)
Certification
Certified as a plug-in photovoltaic system (UL 3700 or equivalent) by UL or another nationally recognized testing laboratory; meets the NEC and California Electrical Code
Electrical code (NEC)
Must meet the National Electrical Code
Stops when the grid goes down
Required

Your utility

Approval
Not required
Notice
Only if your utility requires it
Details
Utilities may ask for a simple online registration (address, make, model and size); it cannot require approval. The interconnection exemption and fee ban expire 2030-01-01 unless the legislature extends them.
Fees
Utility may not charge fees
Interconnection agreement
Not needed

Renters

Protected
Not specified
Details
Not addressed in the bill text.

Homeowners associations

Protected
Not specified
Details
Not addressed in the bill text.

Local permits

May apply
Not specified

Electricity price

Average home rate
31.4¢ per kWh

Sources

Data as of October 8, 2026. Reference only, not legal advice. Check the bill text, your utility and your landlord or association.

Other states with plug-in solar laws

All 50 states and DC