Plug-in solar in Virginia

Signed, not yet effective Takes effect January 1, 2027, in 84 days

Soon. Virginia has signed a plug-in solar law (HB 395 / SB 250) that takes effect on January 1, 2027. It will cover kits with up to 1,200 W of output, per dwelling unit, plugs into a building outlet.

Sources differ on part of this. Check the original bill text for the utility rules and which rental buildings are covered.

The device

Power limit
1,200 W (per dwelling unit, plugs into a building outlet)
Small-device threshold
391 W
Certification
Meets the National Electrical Code and certified by a nationally recognized testing lab
Electrical code (NEC)
Must meet the National Electrical Code
Stops when the grid goes down
Not specified

Your utility

Approval
Not required
Notice
Use the state's customer notification form
Details
The State Corporation Commission was due to post a customer notification form by 2026-09-01; no portable-device form had been confirmed as of mid-2026. Ask your utility how to notify it.
Fees
Not specified
Interconnection agreement
Not specified

Renters

Protected
Yes
From
January 1, 2027
Notice to landlord
At least 7 days, in writing
Details
Landlords of more than four units cannot ban portable solar devices. Tenants give at least 7 days' notice with documents showing the device meets legal requirements and where it will go.

Homeowners associations

Protected
Not specified
Details
Not addressed in the summary consulted.

Local permits

May apply
Yes
Details
Localities cannot prohibit small portable solar on homes meeting zoning, historic and device standards.

Electricity price

Average home rate
16.4¢ per kWh

Sources

Data as of October 8, 2026. Reference only, not legal advice. Check the bill text, your utility and your landlord or association.

Other states with plug-in solar laws

All 50 states and DC